Skip to main content

Disclaimer: This pro­file is made available for general information purpose. The pro­file is accurate as of May 2023. You may visit the transit agency’s website or contact the transit agency’s contact person for the latest information

The City of Beaumont serves as an urban transit district (UTD) for the Beaumont urbanized area (UZA) under Texas Transportation Code Chapter 458 and therefore receives state funding. Beaumont Municipal Transit (BMT) is a public transit provider in the UTD, providing fixed-route local bus service and ADA paratransit service within the city limits of Beaumont. The service area falls entirely into Jefferson County, covering 76.9 percent of the population and 58.6 percent of the land area of the Beaumont UZA according to the U.S. Census 2010. The Port Arthur UZA, bordering the Beaumont UZA in Jefferson County, is served by the other UTD, Port Arthur Transit. The rural parts of Jefferson County and adjacent Hardin and Orange Counties are served by a rural transit district, the South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC). Residents who live in rural areas of Beaumont are qualified to use the demand-response service provided by SETRPC’s rural transportation program, South East Texas Transit. Amtrak passenger rail service is available for people residing in Beaumont.

BMT is administrated by the City of Beaumont and is governed by the Beaumont City Council.

Choose the district's urban-rural classification to review:

Projects in  

Implementation Fiscal Year Project Name Cost