Skip to main content

Disclaimer: This pro­file is made available for general information purpose. The pro­file is accurate as of May 2023. You may visit the transit agency’s website or contact the transit agency’s contact person for the latest information

The City of Tyler serves as an urban transit district (UTD) for the Tyler urbanized area (UZA) under Texas Transportation Code Chapter 458 and therefore receives state funding. Tyler Transit is a public transit provider in the UTD, providing fixed-route bus service and ADA complementary paratransit service within the city limits of Tyler. The earliest Tyler Transit service began in 1942. The current service area falls entirely into Smith County, covering 79 percent of the population according to the U.S. Census 2020. East Texas Council of Governments is the rural transit district in the region and serves the rural areas of Smith County.

Tyler Transit is a department of the City of Tyler and is governed by the city council. The Tyler City Council is composed of a mayor elected at-large and six single-member district council members who represent the citizens of the city of Tyler.

Choose the district's urban-rural classification to review:

Projects in  

Implementation Fiscal Year Project Name Cost