Skip to main content

Disclaimer: This pro­file is made available for general information purpose. The pro­file is accurate as of May 2024. You may visit the transit agency’s website or contact the transit agency’s contact person for the latest information

The City of Waco serves as an urban transit district (UTD) for the Waco urbanized area (UZA) under Texas Transportation Code Chapter 458 and therefore receives state funding. Waco Transit is the City of Waco transit department, providing fixed-route bus service, ADA paratransit service, downtown circulars, and demand-response service (including daytime airport shuttles and Evening LINK service) within its service area. Waco Transit partners with the Baylor University Parking and Transportation Division to provide fixed-route bus service on campus. In addition, Waco Transit contracts with LogistiCare Solutions to provide non-emergency medical transportation for McLennan County and surrounding counties.

The service area of Waco Transit encompasses portions of the city limits of Bellmead, Hewitt, Lacy-Lakeview, Robinson, Waco, and Woodway. The service area falls entirely into McLennan County, covering 89.1 percent of the population and 80.8 percent of the land area of the Waco UZA according to the U.S. Census 2010. The rural areas of McLennan County are served by the McLennan County Rural Transit District.

Waco Transit is a city agency and is governed by a board composed of members from the city council, metropolitan planning organization, and transportation committee.

Choose the district's urban-rural classification to review:

Projects in FY2023-2028  

Implementation Fiscal Year Project Name Cost