Skip to main content

Disclaimer: This pro­file is made available for general information purpose. The pro­file is accurate as of May 2024. You may visit the transit agency’s website or contact the transit agency’s contact person for the latest information

The City of Cleburne, under Texas Transportation Code Chapter 458, serves as a rural transit district for rural areas of Johnson County and therefore receives state funding for rural transit services. The city provides transit services via its transit department, City/County Transportation (known as Cletran).

The 2010 U.S. Census results indicated that the Dallas–Fort Worth–Arlington (DFWA) urbanized area (UZA) expanded further into Johnson County from 2000 to 2010. Cletran assumes the responsibility to provide transit services for the DFWA UZA in Johnson County under an interlocal cooperative agreement with the North Central Texas Council of Governments. Cletran currently operates demand-response service for the general public that covers all of Johnson County and areas within the city limits of Burleson in Tarrant County. Cletran provides non-emergency medical transportation service to eligible riders in the county and accepts trip requests that either originate or end at the Huguley Hospital. Additionally, Cletran operates commuter service connecting Burleson, Cleburne, Joshua, and downtown Fort Worth.

The Amtrak passenger rail line passes through Cletran’s service area. Cletran can provide a connection to Amtrak at the Intermodal Depot in Cleburne.

The Cleburne City Council serves as the governing body of Cletran. The Cleburne City Council consists of a mayor and four councilmembers.


Choose the district's urban-rural classification to review:

Projects in FY2023-2028  

Implementation Fiscal Year Project Name Cost