Skip to main content

Disclaimer: This pro­file is made available for general information purpose. The pro­file is accurate as of May 2024. You may visit the transit agency’s website or contact the transit agency’s contact person for the latest information

The East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG) is a rural transit district authorized by Texas Transportation Code Chapter 458 in 1995 and therefore receives state funding for rural transit services. Based on the 2020 U.S. Census, the Longview urbanized area (UZA) spans Gregg, Harrison, Rusk, and Upshur Counties; the Tyler urbanized zone area (UZA) is within Smith County only. Currently, ETCOG provides transit services for only the rural parts of Gregg and Smith Counties and all of Anderson, Camp, Cherokee, Harrison, Henderson, Marion, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood Counties.

ETCOG’s public transportation program, GoBus Transit, operates demand-response service for the general public throughout its service area and deviated fixed-route service within the city limits of Marshall. Greyhound operates a private intercity bus service in ETCOG’s service area. The Amtrak passenger rail line passes through the ETCOG service area. GoBus Transit can provide connections to services at multiple locations.

The ETCOG Board of Directors governs transportation programs. Each member of ETCOG designates one to three representatives. ETCOG’s 17-member Executive Committee is responsible for funding management and daily operations.

Choose the district's urban-rural classification to review:

Projects in FY2023-2028  

Implementation Fiscal Year Project Name Cost