Skip to main content

Disclaimer: This pro­file is made available for general information purpose. The pro­file is accurate as of May 2023. You may visit the transit agency’s website or contact the transit agency’s contact person for the latest information

The Southwest Area Regional Transit District (SWART) is a rural transit district (RTD) authorized by Texas Transportation Code Chapter 458 in 2012 and therefore receives state funding for rural transit services. SWART, formerly known as Southwest Transit, serves the Middle Rio Grande Region, including Dimmit, Edwards, Kinney, La Salle, Maverick, Real, Uvalde, and Zavala Counties, and operates demand-response service throughout the service area. SWART transports riders among popular cities within the service area (such as Carrizo Springs, Eagle Pass, and Uvalde) and connects local cities with destinations out of the service area (such as Del Rio, Laredo, and San Antonio).

There are two transit centers in SWART’s service area—Eagle Pass and Uvalde—and one multimodal facility in Del Rio, which connects to Amtrak’s passenger rail service.

SWART’s administrative and dispatching center is located in Uvalde. Its governing body is an eight-member board of directors made up of each county’s county judge or representative.

Choose the district's urban-rural classification to review:

Projects in  

Implementation Fiscal Year Project Name Cost